Learning about play

Thanks to Katie Piatt for a recent inspiring blog post on  play in relation to student’s learning. She considers how Eberle’s process of play (described by Johan Brand) could be applied to the design of student learning experiences.

The process of play model contains six cyclical steps, roughly sequential:

  1. anticipation;
  2. surprise;
  3. pleasure;
  4. understanding;
  5. strength;
  6. poise.

What also interested me in Johan Brand’s post was the idea of enablers of playful behaviour, which can be harnessed to support the design of playful experiences. These enablers are described as: ownership; sharing; personalisation; creation; participation; socialising; and competing.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *